Fire Department

Hopatcong Fire Department is a Volunteer Fire Department consisting of three companies.  At full strength there are 120 firefighters (40 in each company). The Fire Department has fire rescue, fire suppression, vehicle extrication, ice and water rescue, confined space rescue, and FAST Team capabilities. The officers of the Fire Department are the Fire Chief, two Assistant Chiefs and a Chief Engineer who oversees the operation and maintenance of the fire equipment. There is a departmental Secretary and Treasurer for the Fire Department’s administrative business. Each fire company has a Captain, Lieutenant, Engineer and two Assistant Engineers as line officers.  The President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary, and Sergeant at Arms make up the administrative part of the company. The three companies combined have 13 pieces of fire fighting apparatus among them and one command vehicle.

To volunteer to be a local firefighter stop at any firehouse on a Thursday evening 7:30 PM To 9:00 PM or Sunday 9:00 AM. to 11:00 AM.

Congratulations to the 2024 officers!

Hopatcong Fire Department:                        Northwood Engine CO No. 2:                          Hopatcong Defiance Engine CO No. 3:

Chief 1- Wade Crowley                                  Captain: Carlos Goncalves                         Captain: Henry Sardina
Chief 2- Matt Smith                                        Lieutenant: Steve Kucevic                            Lieutenant: Aaron DePack
Chief 3- Bernie Kotchkowski                         Engineer: Matt Foy                                         Engineer: Scott Nelson
Department Engineer- Rob Gomez            Asst. Engineer: Zsolt Kallo                            Asst. Engineer: Kevin Schneider
Secretary- Jim O'Rourke                               Asst. Engineer: Milton Delgado                   Asst. Engineer: Keith Garcia
Treasurer- Bill Steger                                     President: Milton Delgado                            President: Bill Steger
Chaplain: Frank Steinberg                           Vice President: Carlos Goncalves              Vice President: Frank Steinberg
                                                                            Secretary: Michael Kovach                          Secretary: Jim O'Rourke
                                                                            Treasurer: Barbara Kotchkowski                 Treasurer: Rich Sadowski