Registrar Vital Statistics
(please be advised that the Governor has suspended the marriage application fee until July of 2023)
Applying for a Marriage License
If you are planning on entering into a marriage in New Jersey, there are a few things you need to know. Please phone ahead for an appointment to apply for your license. Registrar’s hours are Monday – Friday, 9:30AM to 3:00PM. There is a $28 application fee. Complete the marriage license application form. Do not sign the marriage application form before going to the Local Registrar. You must sign the application, under oath, in the presence of the issuing authority.
Requirements for entering into a marriage
- Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage in this state or recognized by this state;
- Be at least 18 years of age.
Where to apply
- Apply for the marriage license in the New Jersey municipality where either party resides. The license is valid throughout New Jersey.
- If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will be performed. In this case, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.
Required items when applying for a marriage license
- Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
- Proof of residency by one applicant if a NJ resident
- A witness, 18 years of age or older
- The $28 application fee
Your social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.
Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
After you apply
There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed with the Registrar. There is no 72-hour waiting period for a remarriage; however, you must bring a certified copy of your existing marriage.
The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year. Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. If the license expires before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.
Once you are united in marriage the officiant will file the marriage license in the town where the ceremony was performed. Certified Certificates are issued by the municipality in which the legal ceremony was performed.
Certified Copies of Vital Records
Certified copies of all Vital Records may be obtained provided the individual is qualified to receive and can fully identify the record requested and provide proof of identification and proof of relationship. No Exceptions can be made. Certified copies of vital records, (Marriage, Birth, Death, Civil Union, Domestic Partnership) can be obtained for a cost of $10.00 each.
Certified Copies of both Death and Birth Certificates are available in the town where the Birth or Death Occurred.