Public Works

The Department of Public Works is responsible for maintaining the Borough roads during all seasons, construction projects like additional parking in Maxim Glen or replacing a wall at the Civic Center, installing and maintaining stormwater catchbasins and piping, maintaining and repairing some Borough vehicles, providing building maintenance, assisting the Water Department with main installation and repair, assisting with athletic field and park maintenance, leaf collection, demolition of buildings, and other activities.

Household Hazardous Waste Disposal Day

2023 Paving Summary Plans!

Mayor Francis New Jersey Natural Gas Update: click here!

*Change for leaf pick up see below*
There was a mistake in the Calendar, there will be no leaf pick up for May.

The Borough of Hopatcong shall provide curbside collection of leaves during the month of APRIL and from OCTOBER 17th through 
DECEMBER 9th. Only LEAVES shall be accepted. Branches, twigs, grass clippings, rocks or other vegetative matter shall not be 
accepted. Leaves are required to be placed in biodegradable brown paper bags only. Leaves in proper bags as detailed above may be brought 
directly to the Hopatcong Recycling Center. Brush no wider than 4” in diameter will be accepted at the recycling center. Hopatcong Residents 
can only utilize the recycling center. No contractors allowed. Must show proof of residency by obtaining a window decal from 
Borough Hall.

New Jersey Natural Gas Notice

Hopatcong recognizes Department of Public Works employees for ten to over 30 years of dedicated service to the Borough of Hopatcong, proudly serving our citizenry from clearing our roadways to maintaining our parks, buildings and grounds, and our Water and Sewer Utilities

March 29, 2023 - Council President John Young and DPW Superintendent Pat Mason recognized many Department of Public Works employees for their many years of dedicated service to the Borough of Hopatcong and its citizenry.

“On behalf of Mayor Mike Francis and Borough Council are pleased to recognize some of our dedicated DPW employees for their many years of dedicated service, four of whom have tirelessly served Hopatcong for over three decades,” said Council President John Young.  “The department would not be where it is today without the dedication and compassion of these public servants,” added Pat Mason.

Borough Administrator David Fanslau and CFO/ Deputy Administrator Lorraine Rosetti were also on-hand to celebrate the cumulative 265 years of serving Hopatcong.

Public Works service awards

James O'Brien: 12 years

Tom Hayes: 18 years
Martin Petrizzo: 18 years
Louie Gonzales: 18 years

Don Schoelier: 21 years

Joe O'Brien: 23 years

Charles Sherrer: 26 years

Walter Hill: 31 years
Carlos Rivera: 31 years

Walter Schmidt: 33 years

Tim Zweigle: 34 years