Borough Roster

BOROUGH OF HOPATCONG MUNICIPAL ROSTER 2021
111 River Styx Road, Hopatcong, 07843
973-770-1200



MAYOR AND COUNCIL
Borough form of Government.  Meets twice monthly.  Mayor and 6 Council Members.
Mayor’s appointment 4 years, Council appointments 3 years
Michael Francis mfrancis@hopatcong.org Mayor Finance, Police, Fire, Ambulance, OEM, DPW, Water/Sewer, Redevelopment, Market, SC League of Mun., Municipal Alliance, School, Wellness Center 12/31/23
Bradley Hoferkamp bhoferkamp@hopatcong.org Council Member Finance, Ambulance, DPW, Water/Sewer, Real Estate, Market, Senior Citizens, School


12/31/22
Jennifer Johnson jjohnson@hopatcong.org Council Member Police, Ambulance, School



12/31/22
Dawn Roberts droberts@hopatcong.org Council Member Senior Citizens, Municipal Alliance, Wellness Center


12/31/21
Richard Schindelar rschindelar@hopatcong.org Council Member Finance, Police, Fire, OEM, Water/Sewer, Environmental, Recreation, Land Use, Real Estate, Re-Development, Senior Citizens, SC League of Mun., MSA 12/31/23
Ryan Smith rsmith@hopatcong.org Council Member Fire, Ambulance, SWAC/PAC, Redevelopment, Hopatcong Market, SC League of Mun., 


12/31/21
John Young jyoung@hopatcong.org Council President OEM, DPW, Open Space, Environmental, Recreation, Real Estate, Municipal Alliance


12/31/23


LAND USE BOARD
Established pursuant to NJSA 40:5D-23 and §28-1 of the Borough Code.  9 members, 4 alternates.  Meets twice monthly.
Class I, II & III appointments 1 year, Class IV appointments 4 years, Alternates 2 years

Michael Francis

mfrancis@hopatcong.org

Mayor (Class I)

12/31/22

Ronald Tappan

111 River Styx Road, Hopatcong, 973-770-1200 x120, rtappan@hopatcong.org

Borough Official (Class II)

12/31/22

Richard Schindelar

rschindelar@hopatcong.org

Council Member (Class III)

12/31/22

Alan Gilbert

agilbert@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)
Chairman

12/31/23

Robert Rehe

rrehe@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)
Vice Chair

12/31/25

Robert Duncan

rduncan@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)

12/31/23

Mark Gaffney

mgaffney@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)

12/31/24

Judith Kracht

jkracht@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)

12/31/25

Anthony Bongiovanni

abongiovanni@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)

12/31/24

Jonathon Taylor

jtaylor@hopatcong.org

Alternate #1

12/31/23

James Dell'Arena

 jdellarena@hopatcong.org

Alternate #2

12/31/22

Mike Smith

MSmith@hopatcong.org

Alternate #3

12/31/22

Walt Rossi

wrossi@hopatcong.org

Alternate #4

12/31/23

William Haggerty

whaggerty@dolanlaw.com

Attorney

12/31/22

Nicole Fazio

111 River Styx Road, Hopatcong, 973-770-1200 x133, nfazio@hopatcong.org

Secretary

12/31/22


BOARD OF HEALTH
Established pursuant to §245 of the Borough Code.  7 Members.  Meets quarterly.
All Member appointments concurrent with council seat

Michael Francis

mfrancis@hopatcong.org

Member

Bradley Hoferkamp

bhoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Member

Jennifer Johnson

jjohnson@hopatcong.org  

Member

Dawn Roberts

droberts@hopatcong.org   

Member

Richard Schindelar

rschindelar@hopatcong.org    

Vice President

Ryan Smith

rsmith@hopatcong.org  

Member

John Young

jyoung@hopatcong.org

President



BOARD OF RECREATION COMMISSIONERS
Established pursuant to NJSA 40:5-1, §9-6 of the Borough Code.  7 Members.  Meets once monthly.
Member Appointments 5 years, Alternates 1 year

Wendy Sutton

wsutton@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/21

Marshall Speizer

mspeizer@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/24

Susan Gorgolione

sgorgolione@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/23

Dave Barella

dbarella@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/22

Danette Swanson

dswanson@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/22

Darrin DiNapoli

ddinapoli@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/25

Jackie Turkington

 

Member

12/31/25

Sue Klemm

 

Alternate

12/31/21

Christy Rehe

crehe@hopatcong.org

Secretary

12/31/21


HOPATCONG ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION
Established pursuant to §5-8 of the Borough Code.  7 Members and 2 Alternate Members.  Meets once monthly.
All Member appointments 3 years, Alternate 2 years

Jule Girman

jgirman@hopatcong.org

Regular Member

12/31/23

Bradley Hoferkamp

bhoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Regular Member

12/31/21

Lisa Hirschfeld

lhirschfeld@hopatcong.org

Regular Member

12/31/23

Pat Hoferkamp

phoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Regular Member

12/31/21

Georgia Schilling

gschilling@hopatcong.org

Regular Member

12/31/23

Philip Reilly

preilly@hopatcong.org

Land Use Rep

12/31/22

Jen Barone

jbarone@hopatcong.org

Regular Member

12/31/22

Willa Scantlebury

surfbandit@aol.com

Alternate #1

12/31/22

Jon Rafalowski

jrafalowski@treetechinc.com

Alternate #2

12/31/22

 

HOPATCONG OPEN SPACE COMMITTEE
Established pursuant to §5-17 of the Borough Code.  7 Members and 2 Alternate Members.  Meets as needed.
All Member appointments 2 years, Mayor and Council member appointments coincide with council term

Michael Francis

mfrancis@hopatcong.org

Mayor

12/31/24

Elide Young

eyoung@hopatcong.org

Mayor’s appt. at large

12/31/22

Georgia Schilling

gschilling@hopatcong.org

Council appt.at large

12/31/22

Lisa Hirschfeld

lhirschfeld@hopatcong.org

Council appt. at large

12/31/22

Dave Barella

dbarella@hopatcong.org

Recreation Commission Rep

12/31/22

Jule Girman

jgirman@hopatcong.org

Environmental Commission Rep

12/31/22

Robert Rehe

rrehe@hopatcong.org

Land Use Rep

12/31/22

John Young

jyoung@hopatcong.org

Council Rep

12/31/23

Bradley Hoferkamp

bhoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Alternate

12/31/22

Jen Barone

jbarone@hopatcong.org

Alternate

12/31/22


HOPATCONG FIRE DEPARTMENT

Steve Kucevic

skucevic@hopatcong.org

Chief

Wade Crowley

wcrowley@hopatcong.org

1st Assistant Chief

Mattew Smith

msmith@hopatcong.org

2nd Assistant Chief


OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT
Member appointments 3 year

Wade Crowley

wcrowley@hopatcong.org

Coordinator

12/31/22

Kevin Schneider

 

Deputy Coordinator

12/31/22

 

EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL

Michael Francis

Mayor

12/31/22

John Young

Council Representative

12/31/22

Rob Auer

Captain, Ambulance Squad

12/31/22

Steve Kucevic

Fire Chief

12/31/22

Pat Mason

DPW

12/31/22

Ron Tappan

Borough Administrator

12/31/21

 

FIREWISE COMMITTEE

Kevin Bourke

Chairman

12/31/22

Bernard Kotchkowski

Fire Marshal

12/31/22

Michael Francis

Mayor

12/31/22

Ryan Smith

Council Representative

12/31/22

Ron Tappan

Borough Administrator

12/31/22

     

Frank Steinberg

Fire Safety Inspector

12/31/21

 

HOPATCONG SENIOR ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Ida Brown

 

Chairperson

Henry Schmidt

 

Member

Marie McQueen

 

Member

Michelle McCroy

 

Member

John Campbell

 

Member

Fred Sampson

 

Member

Sal Fiorentino

 

Member

Pat Hofmann

 

Member

Betty Castoro

 

Member

JoAnn Curtin

 

Member

Michael Francis

mfrancis@hopatcong.org

Mayor

Bradley Hoferkamp

bhoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Council Rep

Cathy Millian

cmillian@hopatcong.org, 862-414-4802

Recreation Coordinator

Ron Tappan

rtappan@hopatcong.org

Administrator

 

PROFESSIONAL APPOINTMENTS

Municipal Attorney

John Ursin
Schenk Price, Smith & King LLP

351 Sparta Avenue, Sparta NJ

Municipal Bond Counsel

John Cantalupo
Archer & Greiner, P.C.

10 Highway 35, Red Bank, NJ 07701

 

Municipal Engineer

John Ruschke
Mott MacDonald

412 Mt. Kemble Ave., Suite G22, Morristown, NJ, 07860

 

Risk Manager

Wayne Diez
Skylands Risk Management

PO Box 365, Newton, NJ 07860

 

Borough Auditor

Nisivoccia

 200 Valley Rd., Mt. Arlington, NJ, 078456

Grant Consultant

Millennium strategies

60 Columbia Road, Bld. B, STE 230, 2nd Floor, Morristown NJ, 07960

IT Services

Quikteks

373 US 46, Fairfield, NJ, 07004

Health Services

Sussex County Health Department

201 Wheatsworth Road, Hamburg, NJ 07419

973-579-0370 Fax: 973-579-0399


OFFICE STAFF

Administrator

Ronald Tappan

rtappan@hopatcong.org

Ext. 120

CFO, Deputy Admin.

Lorraine Rosetti

lrosetti@hopatcong.org

Ext 115

Borough Clerk/Registrar

Valerie Egan

vegan@hopatcong.org

Ext. 114

Land Use Secretary

Nicole Fazio

nfazio@hopatcong.org

Ext 133

Construction Official

Bill O’Connor

boconnor@hopatcong.org

Ext. 137

Zoning Officer

Bill Donegan

bdonegan@hopatcong.org  

Ext. 134

Tax Assessor

Therese DePierro

tdepierro@hopatcong.org

Ext. 129

DPW Superintendent

Pat Mason

pmason@hopatcong.org

Ext. 400, 401

Tax Collector

Patty Emery

pemery@hopatcong.org

Ext. 125

Fire Official

Bernard Kotchowski

BKotchkowski@hopatcong.org

862-324-1989 Or Ext 170

Recreation Coordinator

Cathy Millian

cmillian@hopatcong.org

862-414-4802

Court Administrator

MaryBeth Swanson

Marybeth.Swanson@hopatcong.org

Ext. 156

Police Chief

Meghan McCluskey

MMcCluskey@hopatcongpolice.org

973-398-5000

Animal Control Officer

Gianna DiMatteo

gdimatteo@hopatcong.org

Ext. 151


MISCELLANEOUS

Hopatcong First Aid

516 River Styx Road
Captain Rob Auer

973-770-0440

Hopatcong Vol. Fire Company

Northwood #2, 440 Maxim Dr.
Defiance#3, PO Box 1015,
Hopatcong Hills #4, PO Box 724

973-,770-1929
973-398-0030
973-398-1612

Hopatcong Post Office

32 Durban Ave.

973-398-1046

Hopatcong Board of Education

2 Windsor Ave., PO Box 1029

973-398-8800
Fax:  973-398-2590

Trash Hauler

Suburban Disposal

973-227-7020

Hopatcong Resource/Community Center

47 Hopatchung Road

973-810-3238