Recreation Commission


The Recreation Commission meets on the 2nd Tuesday each month at 7:00 PM in the Municipal Building Court Room (unless otherwise noted). 

The Recreation Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor. Each member serves a five-year term. The Board elects a Chairperson, a Vice Chairperson, Secretary, and Treasurer. A Councilperson acts as a liaison to the Commission. The Recreation Commission was created in December 1969 by Borough ordinance (See Article One of Chapter 5 “Board of Recreation Commissioners” of the Code of the Borough of Hopatcong,) pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:12-1 et seq. with the first commissioners being appointed in 1970. The Recreation Commission is the central agency for all recreational organizations and activities in the Borough and coordinates the fields and parks for their uses.

The commission is not responsible for any town employees. So, any issues with a town employee, including the Recreation Lead must be brought to the attention of the mayor and the business administrator, not the commission. We will not entertain any conversations about town employees, due to privacy laws.

Recreation meetings are to be conducted in accordance with Roberts Rules of Order, and at the discretion of the Chair and Vice Chair or the presiding official.

Public Comment Period(s) shall provide an opportunity for each individual to speak for five (5) minutes, and when appropriate as determined by the presiding official, an extension may be granted. Members of the Governing Body may respond to the individual if they so choose at the conclusion of the Public Comment Period. Any and all comments should be addressed to the Governing Body, not to the general public and delivered in a civil and non-provocative manner. The Governing Body shall by motion close the Public Comment Period by a majority vote. The Public Comment Period shall not exceed one (1) hour unless approved by a majority vote of the Governing Body. 

Mayor’s Appointment – 5 Year Term (the End of Year is End of Term – 12/31)

Chairperson Wendy Sutton* expires 12/26    
Vice Chair Dave Barella expires 12/28
Darrin DiNapoli* expires 12/25
Jackie Turkington expires 12/25
Cheryl Ostman* expires 12/28
Kelly Gravatt expires 12/24
Ulla Vinkman expires 12/28
Nancy Boehm Recording Secretary
Jennifer Johnson Recreation Council Liaison
Marie Galate Recreation Council Liaison

*Field Committee

Agendas & Minutes

To get to the Recreation Page on our website please click here!